I must be getting old

In 1994, while skiing in Colorado, I broke my left leg. After having the local hospital x-ray my leg and put it into an inflatable cast, Karen drove for 27 hours nonstop, back to Marietta, Georgia. She took me to probably the best is orthopedic Dr. in the state at the time, Dr. Hugh C McLeod, who schedule my surgery for the next morning. As a result of that surgery, I still have six screws in my leg, three holding the tibia together and three holding the remaining pieces of my knee in place.

At that time, Dr. McLeod said that it would not be a matter of if I needed a knee replacement when I got older, but only when I would need that knee replacement. Here it is, 17 years later and no sign of needing a knee replacement.

The sad part is, that I just read that Dr. McLeod passed away. Dr. McLeod was six years younger than I am but he succumbed to leukemia.

The reason that I say that I must be getting old is that it is become a regular occurrence for me to hear about persons that I know in my age bracket who have passed away. The list of those from my high school graduating class who have died is getting longer and longer.

How many have been born again, I wish I knew.

This entry was posted in Dr. Hugh C MacLeod. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I must be getting old

  1. The subsequent time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my option to learn, however I truly thought youd have something fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you possibly can fix if you werent too busy in search of attention.

Leave a Reply

